It All Boils Down To A Cooker

Nope again. Still not exchanged. We’re due to move in 1 week and 1 day. Everything was ready to go but our buyers solicitor decided to throw a few more queries into the mix. Now our buyers can’t decide whether to include their range cooker in their sale.

These are the buyers who put me under pressure to move out by the end of April. Whose subsequent buyer for their property has paid extra money so their solicitor would work after 6 o’clock, to get the paperwork finished for exchange…last Friday.

(Mr Cameron and Mr Clegg, please can you take a look at the house selling and buying system in England. I’ve lived in Scotland and I think we’re all in agreement it’s much better.)

I must apologise to the readers of this blog, my friends and family. I’m not slacking or being anti-social, really I’m not. The house move and my MA assessment will take place next week. My internet connection has been rather temperamental and it’s all been very stressful actually. So Positively Divorced has taken a back seat.

In order to get things done, I’ve succumbed to a holiday club for the boys. Yesterday was their first day and thankfully, they loved it. Doodle, being the very outgoing  chap that he is, ran off straight away to play football. Sketch wasn’t quite so forthcoming. Hands in his pockets, shoulders hunched and tears in his eyes, when I said I had to leave, it brought back all those feelings I had on his first day at nursery. Guilt. Worry. I must admit to having a weep in the car.

However Doodle came out with an extremely red, sweaty and happy face albeit with a massive bump on his head from running into another footie player. Sketch was proudly holding a plate of World Cup biscuits and some rather lovely fridge magnets. Phew.

I’m burning the candle at both ends at the moment. Trying to get my MA projects finalised and dissertation proposals written. (I was making the boys packed lunch at 1 am this morning.) Packing, organising and lobbing have become my evening obsession. I just love throwing things out! It’s incredibly therapeutic. Of course it has a buzz word –  it’d life laundry apparently.

Now I’m moving and having to live temporarily with Ma I have to re-evaluate everything I need. My lifetime of junk, has to go into store so everything I keep costs me money – this is always a good way of finding out what’s important to you.

So that’ll be my positive end to this post. Chuck out, throw away, recycle your junk of course but really, do you need all that stuff? Do the kids need all those cheap plastic toys? Ladies do you need your ‘thin jeans’ from 2 years ago to be worn when you loose those extra couple of pounds. Or those bits and pieces that clog up our cupboards and drawers ‘just in case’ they come in handy one day?

My guilty hoard were magazines and textile off cuts. For possible art projects that were never going to happen because I don’t have that luxury called ‘spare time’. Initially I started sorting them, got fed up stuck the lot in the recycling bin. Oooo it felt nice.

Perhaps it’s easier for me. Getting divorced has been the impetus I needed to re-evaluate everything I need. Physically, practically and emotionally. It’s a time to start again.

I’ve just realised what I’ve written above –  lifetime of junk. Yeap that about sums it up. Now I’d rather have less but as long as its quality, I’ll be happy.

“A hundred years from now it will not matter what my bank account was, the sort of house I lived in, or the kind of car I drove… but the world may be different because I was important in the life of a child.”

Forest E. Witcraft American Scholar, Teacher and Scout Leader (1894 – 1967)

About positivelydivorced

33, Mum to 2 boys, trying to divorce, positively.
This entry was posted in Positive Things To Do, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It All Boils Down To A Cooker

  1. Totally agree with the house buying – its ridiculous and needs something doing to it

    One of my jobs this summer is a declutter and chuck out – is very therapeutic, not least because after three years of either being pregnant or losing baby weight I have a lot of clothes that bear no resemblance to the size I actually am! Also loving getting the house less messy, at least momentarily

    • positivelydivorced says:

      I can’t recommend this throwing out malarky enough and I’m loving my skip! I find it rather funny that things are disappearing from it overnight 🙂

  2. burblingbee says:

    Oh I love a good declutter! My children have been away for the last two New Years (new yearses?), and both times I haven’t gone out and had a wild time, but I’ve stayed in and gone through their bedrooms armed with binbags, boxes for the charity shop, and so on. I think I managed 6 bags full of outgrown clothes/plastic tat/millionth soft toys and so on last year!

    I love the quote too.

Leave a comment